Welcome to Summit County, Colorado

Less than a two-hour drive from the heart of Denver, and a favorite destination for summer and winter visitors, Summit County has a little bit of everything and a whole lot of Colorado engrained in it! Comprised of these popular towns and areas: Breckenridge, Copper Mountain, Dillon, Frisco, Keystone, Silverthorne -Wildernest, we invite you to learn more about our beautiful mountain region.



Plan Your Summit County Vacation:



Summit County Road Conditions

Although our mountains are beautiful and our winter skiing epic, road conditions are always something to be aware of when you drive the I-70 corridor between Summit County and Denver. We highly recommend that you consider using local transportation to avoid the hassle of weather conditions, but if you choose to drive yourself, always keep aware of information from CDOT and other local and state resources.

The Weather in Summit County CO

The weather in the Rockies can be exceptionally unpredictable. Be prepared for all season at every time of year, its not unheard of to see snow in July! Find the specific weather for the town you are visiting or explore the snow report at the mountain resorts!

Things to Know If You are Visiting Summit CO

  • Quandary Peak is the highest point in Summit County and the thirteenth-highest mountain in Colorado at 14,271 feet
  • The Blue River begins at the confluence of Monte Cristo and Bemrose Creeks in southern Summit County, near the Quandary Peak trailhead
  • The river is dammed twice before it leaves Summit County and meets the Colorado in Grand County: first at Dillon Reservoir, to divert more water to the Platte River basin, and then farther downstream at Green Mountain Reservoir.
  • The White River National Forest covers nearly the entire county
  • From about the mid-sixteenth century until the late nineteenth century, the Summit County area was inhabited by two distinct bands of Utes: the Parianuche, or “Elk People,” and the Yampa, or “Root Eaters.”
  • Breckenridge was founded in 1860 by George Spencer a prospector
  • First established in 1861, Summit County is one of the original seventeen counties in the Colorado Territory. The creation of Grand, Eagle and Garfield counties in later years reduced the size of Summit significantly by 1883
  • During the height of Colorado mining, Summit County produced nearly $7 million in gold and $2 million in silver
  • Arapahoe basin was Summit County's first ski area, it opened in 1946
  • Loveland Ski Area
  • Copper Mountain
  • Keystone Resort
  • Arapahoe Basin Ski Area
  • Breckenridge Ski Resort
Contact Us Search Rentals